Volunteer Recognition

KSA Volunteer of the Year Recipients Established in 1989 by the Kitchener Sports Association, the KSA volunteer of the Year Award seeks to recognize volunteers within the Kitchener minor sports system and other local (Regional) non-profit sports organizations who have provided distinguished service, based on years of involvement and value to the organization. Sports for Special Athletes is fortunate to have such dedicated recipients of the KSA Volunteer Award in our midst.

The 2019 outstanding volunteer for Sports for Special Athletes is David Howey. He has been with us for 11 years and has been a Director for most of those years. Since retiring, he has been very generous with his time. He is our Treasurer and keeps our records in perfect order, reporting to both the Board of Directors and our Management team. Additionally, he prepares the registered charity returns and files with the CRA. He has just revised our financial reporting to be more comparative and meaningful. He now also assists with our mini-golf and Developmental ball programs. He regularly helps with our twice-yearly registrations and Christmas party. Please join me in thanking Dave for all he does for our organization and our community.

KSA Volunteer Recognition Awards 2019 – (Standing L-R): Mark Sichewski (WRMF presenter), Jenn Herzog (Predators Volleyball), Dave Smith (WRMF), Ray Danbrook (Track 3), Amanda Kesselring (WRBA), Duncan Miller (KWSC), Christopher Brown (WMBA), Claude Restoule (KMHA), Jason Herman (KWMBSA), Cathy Lapar (KMBA), Ryan Windley (KW Lacrosse), Adam Cooper (KW Sports Council), Iain Harrison (KW YBA), Penny Swinston (KSA), Steve Marrier (KMGSA), Les McAuslan (Kitchener Rangers), Chris Timm (Laurel Creek Track), David Howey (SSA), and Nancy & Dwayne Kuiper (ROW). (Sitting L-R): Cathy Herzog (Predators Volleyball), Christa MacKinnon (KW Gymnastics), Shelly Herman (KWMBSA), Elissa Cressman (Special Olympics KW), Connie McFatridge (Kitchener Ringette), Karen Adourian (KW Sertoma), and April LeBlanc (Stanley Park Optimist Ball). Absent: Christopher Green (Supreme Athletics).

Congratulations to all of our member recipients!

2004 – Elizabeth Costello
2005 – Claudia Martin
2006 – Barb Wise
2007 – Ken Costello
2008 – Don Soehner
2009 – Edwina (Teddy) Yandt
2010 – Linda Forrest
2011 – Jim Wise
2012 – Michelle Whittle
2013 – Josh Noble
2014 – Dan Gibson
2015 – Mike Simpson
2016 – Irene Metzger
2017 – Liz Koenig
2018 – Louise Harrison
2019 – David Howey

For more information on the Kitchener Sports Association Volunteer Recognition Program please visit their website at www.kitchenersports.ca